Age before beauty or how old should our politicians be?

I recently wrote a piece for the Beestonia blog about my crossing of the political floor (you can read it if that interests you here )

One of the comments on the post brings me to write this post. Here it is : –

“For one, Sarah is too young and hasn’t enough life experience; and she’s no casework experience of helping others in dire-straits.”

This person is writing about my suitability for elected office I assume.

I am 29. Not that it’s relevant. I have had life experience. I have casework experience. I have helped people in dire-straits.

I was a senior union steward. I met and helped people with a whole range of problems relating to their employment. I always represented them to the best of my ability. Sometimes I won the case and sometimes I lost. But never once did a member complain to my boss that I was too young to represent them or hadn’t had enough life experience. Mostly they were grateful they had someone on their side to support them.

Age is a daft way to judge someone’s suitability to take up elected office. Jake Morrison an Independent Councillor for Liverpool City Council is one of the hardest working Councillors I know. Selected just a few days after his 17th Birthday and elected just days after his 18th Birthday he works tirelessly for the residents in his local area. He is an activist for the OK foundation who are campaigning with my MP Anna Soubry for more public defibrillators. There are also some councillors who are older and useless. The age is irrelevant.

So dear reader it’s really easy the criticise politicians for a whole plethora of reasons. But their age? Come now you can do better than that surely! 🙂

20131002-182501.jpg

One thought on “Age before beauty or how old should our politicians be?

  1. Some of the sons of Lords used to ‘earn’ the family seat in Westminster as soon as they were 21, admittedly not all of them were good, but some turned out alright and became PMs.

    But Jo Swinson was an MP at the age of 25, David Steel at 26, Charles Kennedy was 23. Tony Benn was 26.

    Some PMs who were first elected under 30 include William Gladstone 23, Lloyd George at 27 Winston Churchill 25, Anthony Eden 25, Harold MacMillan 30, Harold Wilson 29, Tony Blair (days under 30). Margaret Thatcher was also first selected at the age of 25.

Leave a Reply

